Partnership for Domestic Violence Prevention Community Advisory Board

The Partnership for Domestic Violence Prevention Community Advisory Board (PDVP CAB) was originally developed for an El Centro funded community-based participatory research (CBPR) study that laid the foundation for a community-academic partnership between the Coordinated Victim Assistance Center (CVAC) within the Miami Dade County Community Action and Human Service Department, other service providers in the community, and the UMSONHS.


This study employed community mobilization approaches and collected qualitative and quantitative data that was used to inform various violence prevention and intervention strategies in the county. These strategies included the development and testing of a teen dating violence prevention program for Hispanic families, a domestic violence homicide prevention initiative, HIV and STI testing, and services for victims of human trafficking.  Numerous research studies exploring the experiences of survivors of dating violence, domestic violence and human trafficking have also resulted from this initial effort.

The PDVP CAB was originally chaired by Dr. Gonzalez-Guarda, Co-Director of R-TEC, but is now managed by CVAC. The CAB meets every other month and includes representatives from government, small and large community organizations, schools, faith-based organizations, and the larger community. The PDVP CAB provides El Centro access to leaders from a variety of groups and constituencies, opportunities for outreach to a wide range of community-based organizations, and supports the sustainability of this community-academic partnership through grant and local fund raising opportunities.


PDVP Advisory Board Members – Past and Present

Adria Villaverde
Administrative Office of the Courts, DV Division
avillaverde@jud11.flcourts.org

Aifa Alvarez
Miami Beach Police Department
AifaAlvarez@miamibeachfl.gov

Brenda Rivera
Legal Aid Society
brivera@dadelegalaid.org

Carrie Soubal
State Attorney’s Office
CarrieQSoubal@miamisao.com

Christina Asencio
Americans for Immigrant Justice
casencio@aijustice.org

Eugene Carral
Administrative
Office of the Courts, DV Division
ecarral@jud11.flcourts.org

Frank DeLaurier
The Melissa Institute
frank@melissainstitute.org

Hortensia Nunez
CVAChenphd@gmail.com

Ivon Mesa
Coordinated Victim Assistance Center
mesai@miamidade.gov

Juan Ferreiro
State Attorney’s Office
JuanFerreiro@miamisao.com

Juanita Cendan
Legal Aid Society
jcendan@dadelegalaid.org

Julieta Hernandez
Mailman Center - for Robert Morgan
jhernand@med.miami.edu

Michelle Ortiz
Americans for Immigrant Justice
mortiz@aijustice.org

Rob Collins
Housing Opportunities Project for Excellence, Inc.
Rob@hopefhc.com

Rosa Figarola
11th Judicial Court Dependency Court
rfigarola@jud11.flcourts.org

Violet Felipe-Diaz
Safe Space AFV
felipev@miamidade.gov

Maria Becerra Entre Nosotras
mmentrenosotras@aol.com

Alex Moreno
University of Miami Adolescent Medicine and Counseling
amoreno@med.miami.edu

Tania Sanchez
State Attorneys Office
taniasanchez@miamisao.com